Hello. I live in Astoria, Queens NYC. I love it here. I have lived in my 2bdrm1bth apartment in Astoria for over 10 years and I am not willing to move unless I buy my own place. I just have too much stuff and hate moving that much.
My attempt to buy my first home was sparked by the lure of the first time home buyer credit. Unfortunately, I missed the deadline and now I am looking without the advantage of an $8,000 credit. My budget is seriously tight. Seriously. And I had a few non-negotiable requirements- FHA financing, washer/dryer hookups with exhaust vent, at least 600 sq ft, great light- preferably southern exposure, above ground level unit (safety reasons) and a workable layout. Easy, right?
Here's the beginning of the story. My search started in Astoria, January 2010. A new condo building was being built right around where I live and the thought of basically moving my things (lots and lots of things) just across the street was really attractive. It was still being built when I first inquired about it last year so I waited till they were up and running before doing anything. That may have been my first big mistake - but you live and you learn. (this phrase may be peppered throughout this blog.)
I looked at most of the 1bdrm condos in that building priced in the low to mid 300's. This was above my budget but I figured I could negotiate down in the bad economy. I made offers on two different units. The first one I decided against when I realized they were expecting more than I was willing to pay. The second one I was outbid by a different buyer.
After my first offer was countered at too high a price I started to look elsewhere in Astoria. I only had two months before the home buyer credit expired in April and I needed to get myself into gear. I was looking to see comparables and to see if there was something better out there. I went to a dozen or so open houses and made contact with a couple brokers.
I was really excited to finally find a condo that I really liked. It was named after a desert, which I thought was interesting I guess. Anyway this desert condo was a nice (of course still small) size and had many nice amenities. A pretty good view, 660 sq ft (biggest I'd seen thus far), Jacuzzi tub, heated floor in the bathroom, floor to ceiling windows in LR and BR, window in the kitchen, recessed lighting in kitchen an LR, ceiling light in BR and bthrm, sizable cabinet space and stainless steel appliances. The big negative was location, the nearest markets and main town areas were quite a walk. I made a low offer and was countered with a decent offer about $15k above mine. Of course I had to push and re-counter with an amount in between the two.
This is where it all went wacky. The broker did not get back to me for a week and I had no idea what was going on. So about 2 weeks later he informs me that the owner is no longer selling the units. Seriously???
Now I only had a month left to find something that worked. Back to the original building. I made my second offer on a different condo that was a little larger (640 sq ft) than the first one(600 sq ft). It was at a higher asking price but I was willing to pay a little more for the addl sq ft. I felt the layout was worth more. It was all moot as another buyer outbid me anyway.
Now I only had about two weeks before the deadline and I had resigned myself to not buying anything.
What happened next I could NOT believe. I was going to meet up with a few friends at Hell's Gate Social (local bar) and, as I passed the desert condo building, I noticed that there were new signs on it indicating new brokers for the building. OMG! I called the very next morning and found out the owner fired the brokers and was trying to sell the units himself. The original brokers had been feeding me a line of bull$#*% and screwing the owner. We agreed to a very good price and was trying to sign the contract before the deadline. I didn't make it and I consigned myself to missing the $8k. Blargh! But the price was good enought that I was willing to continue with it. I was going through the contract with my attorney when the owner informs us that he found buyers willing to pay more. UGH! Argh! Blimey!
I have to admit we were reviewing the contract for more than a week because of financing issues with the building. (It was not approved for FHA as of yet.) It was in that interim the owner had contacted several other brokers and was actively selling the units at higher prices. The new offer he got was $35k over mine, or so he claimed. Whatever, that ended that. I had to put it behind me. Right. Easier said... you get it.
To be continued...